My Writing Process

I sometimes wonder if I’m doing this writing thing correctly. I mean, I know the words and stuff. I know all kinds of words and occasionally I string them together into sentences. Words and sentences for days. Still, like many people at my stage of becoming a professional writer-type, I sometimes doubt that I’m going about it in the best way. So I thought I’d put my usual process for creating the articles, stories, and novels that I spend so much time and energy into and invite some of my creative friends on Facebook and Twitter to give me feedback.

Step 1: Idea Time

Idea.jpg

Oh boy! That’ll make for a great story! I should start writing that immediately. I shall walk over to the desk, turn on the computer, and what did I come over here to do? Oh yeah! Writing. Okay. The computer is booting up. I am mere minutes away from

Step 2: Tidy

20170219_153720.jpg
Pictured: Chaos

Why is my desk such a state? This is no condition to write in! I need space to lay out my notes and to make more notes and this simply won’t do.

Also, my wife asked me to do the dishes. I should probably do that lest I suffer her terrible wrath. Otherwise it will hang over my head and distract me and I mustn’t get distracted from this GREAT idea I have.

Step 3: Tea

Kettle goes on. Green tea goes into my favourite mug with an inspirational quote on it. This is a vital step to clearing my mind.

Step 4: Music

Gotta find the right tunes for this story. Or was it an article I was working on? No, definitely a story. The sci fi one! Better put something actiony to go with the fast-paced story I want to write. Maybe some video game music. Or JPOP. Or a mix of both. Just need to make sure that I have the perfect playlist to go with this epic writing session I have planned.

Step 5: Writing

lorem_ipsum
Pure Brilliance

Words are produced at a speed only reserved for those who have wasted an entire morning not producing words.

Step 6: Lament

angry-man-with-laptop
Screw you, words!

WHAT AM I DOING WITH MY LIFE?!?!

Okay, Trent. Calm down. You got this. Just chill out and come at it from another angle.

Step 7: Standing Across the Room, Staring at the Computer

No… This angle isn’t helping. The words are just as bad from over here. Still, standing is nice. I shouldn’t spend all day sitting at the desk. It’s bad for my back and legs and brain. In fact, I shouldn’t be inside. This house is suffocating my creative process.

Step 8: Running

Exercise is good and absolutely not an excuse to get away from the crushing realisation that I am failing as a writer.

Step 9: Cake

cake
Delicious cake. You’ll never judge me.

I earned my treat

Step 10: Writing

Okay. I have both run away from and comfort eaten my fears away. Now I can’t even tell what I was so worried about. The story is flowing. The words are pouring out of me. The characters are behaving. Or misbehaving. Depends on the character, really.

lorem_ipsum
Still brilliant.

So that’s my typical writing session. With this, I have produced the third draft of a novel and close to a hundred articles over the past two years.

Leave a comment