Writing Sample

In December 2020, I got the opportunity to write for a major game studio. While it was a short lived relationship (such is freelancing, I’m afraid), I wanted to share the writing sample that I wrote for the interview process. The criteria was simple: 4 pages of dialogue. This is what I did.

Enjoy!

PLANNING THE HEIST

THE DIMLY-LIT BACK ROOM OF A TAVERN. THREE FIGURES ARE GATHERED AROUND A TABLE, HAVING AN ARGUMENT.

KANTO:                            Okay, this is a simple job.

CAIUS:                              You know, every time you say that, the job is complicated.

KANTO:                            Well, life is complicated, isn’t it? That’s not the point. Our friend the Count is having a little party to celebrate his son’s promotion to Captain, which will leave his guards busy and his significant, ill-gotten wealth vulnerable.

KANTO LACES HIS FINGERS BEHIND THE BACK OF HIS HEAD AND LEANS BACK IN HIS CHAIR.

                                         Which is, incidentally, where we come in.

BOLLAR:                           I don’t like this plan, Kanto.

KANTO:                            You haven’t even heard it yet.

BOLLAR:                           I still don’t like it.

KANTO:                            That doesn’t make any sense. Just listen to me for two minutes before you start arguing with me about it. Can you give me two minutes without interrupting me?

BEAT

                                         Good. Now, the party is in three days, which means he’s going to start bringing in extra staff to prepare tomorrow. That’s when I slip in and get to know the layout of the place, keep an eye on the guards and get a feel for their patterns, and make off with something small but noticeable so they decide to bring in extra guards for the party. One of which is going to be you, Bollar. Our man on the inside.

BOLLAR:                           I still don’t like it.

KANTO (to himself):       I only asked for two minutes, and you couldn’t even give me that.

CAIUS:                              What don’t you like about it?

BOLLAR:                           I don’t know. I just don’t like it.

KANTO:                            Well, in the face of such withering criticism, we should definitely scrap the whole job.

BOLLAR:                           Good.

KANTO:                            I’m being sarcastic, you idiot.

                                                   BOLLAR SITS UP STRAIGHTER AT THE INSULT.

BOLLAR:                           Hey, there is no need for name calling.

CAIUS:                              That was a bit uncalled for.

BOLLAR:                           I think you should let me plan the heist.

KANTO:                            Absolutely not.

CAIUS:                              Bit harsh.

BOLLAR:                           Why does it have to be your plan?

KANTO:                            Because all your plans involve kicking in the front door and killing all the guards.

BOLLAR:                           It is effective.

KANTO:                            It’s murder and its sloppy.

BOLLAR:                           I mean, if you want to get technical…

KANTO:                            Listen, big guy. We can’t run this job without you. Each of us brings something different to the crew. Caius, you can overcome any magical security measures they can imagine. You are the best in the city. Whatever they put up, you can take down before they even know you’re there.

CAIUS:                              I would call it flattery, but it’s true.

KANTO:                            Bollar, when things go wrong, one look from that gorgeous mug of yours will diffuse a violent situation better than a dozen hired swords. You have a gift for making people rethink their life choices.

BOLLAR:                           I’m also very intimidating when I want to be.

KANTO:                            Quite. And no one in the city is as devious as I am. Give me enough time and there is nowhere I can’t break into or out of. There isn’t a lock or door made that I can’t get past.

BOLLAR:                           I can do that too.

CAIUS:                              I don’t think he was talking about breaking the door down.

KANTO:                            The point is that we need each other. So just let me explain how we’re going to get in and we will have a very, very healthy payday at the end. Of course, we still need a plan to get the gold out of there without being seen. It isn’t like they are going to just hand it over, right?

BEAT

                                         Unless…

CAIUS AND BOLLAR:       I don’t like that look.

KANTO:                            Hear me out. I have a great idea…

Leave a comment